Standard Ethernet

Standard Ethernet

The original Standard Ethernet had been introduced using different cable arrangements. Standard Ethernet is divided into:

10BASE-5: Uses the thick co-axial cable such as RG-8, therefore also known as ThickNet. It provides a transmission rate of 10Mbps and uses the baseband signaling.

10BASE-2: Uses thin co-axial cable such as RG-58A/U, therefore also known as Thinnet and Cheapernet. 10BASE-2 was introduced after identifying the problem of the thick cable generated by 10BASE-5. Another factor considered in using 1013ASE-2 is that it is more economical than 10BASE-5.

10BASE-T: Uses Unshielded Twisted Pair Cable (UTP) to connect devices. Its popularity increased as it can be installed easily, lightly, reliably, and more flexibly than the previous two.

10BASE-F: Uses fiber optical cable and has three types, namely, 10BASE-FB, 10BASE-FL, and 10BASE-FP. The descriptions of these types are:

  • 10BASE-FB: Specifies the way of synchronizing the data transmission over fiber-optic cable.
  • 10BASE-FL: Carries large amount of data in form of light waves.
  • 10BASE-FP: Establishes numerous computers into the Star topology without using any repeater.
Characteristics 10 BASE-5 10BASE-2 10BASE-T 10BASE-F
Transmission Medium Coaxial cable(50 ohm) Coaxial cable (50ohm) Unshielded twisted pair Optical fiber pair 850 nm
Signaling technique Baseband(Manchester) Baseband(Manchester) Baseband(Manchester) Manchester/On-Off
Topology Bus Bus Star star
Maximum segment length 500 meters 185 meters 100 meters 500 meters
Nodes per segment 100 30     —- 33
Cable Diameter 10mm 5mm 0.4 to 0.6 mm 62.5/125nm


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *